• Papers

Historical Reflections on the Work of Commission 4

Catherine Hohenkerk, Jean-Eudes Arlot, George Kaplan, John A. Bangert, Steven A. Bell, Jose M. Ferrandiz, Agnes Fienga, William Folkner, Marina Lukashova, Elena V. Pitjeva, Mitsuru Soma, William Thuillot, Sean E. Urban

Proceedings of the International Astronomical Union, Volume 11, Issue T29A (Transactions IAU), 1–21 (2016)

About the paper


Commission 4 was among the first set of commissions formed within the IAU at its founding in 1919. (Commissions were originally called “Standing Committees.”) During its 96 years of service to the IAU and astronomical community in general, the commission has been fortunate to have been led by many distinguished scientists — see the list of presidents below.